Contemporary Collectors Orange County is a not-for-profit, philanthropic, invitational-membership organization composed of patrons, fellows, trustees, and major donors of a wide spectrum of Southern California, regional and national museums, including the Orange County Museum of Art, The Museum of Contemporary of Art Los Angeles, The Huntington Library, Art Gallery and Botanical Gardens, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, the University Art Museum, CSULB, Laguna Art Museum and others.

Through educational travel, special programs, salons and membership, the group raises funds to provide annual fellowships for emerging or under-recognized mid-career artists. In addition to the fellowships, CCOC supports the programs of various Southern California museums. Most recently funds were awarded to the Laguna Art Museum, supporting BEST KEPT SECRET:UCI AND THE DEVELOPMENT OF CONTEMPORARY ART IN SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA, 1964-1971 and the Los Angeles County Museum of Art to support the major 2011 retrospective, DAVID SMITH: CUBES AND ANARCHY. Exhibition grants were previously awarded to the Museum of Contemporary Art Los Angeles for WACK!, the historic exhibition documenting the early years of feminism in the visual arts, and ALAN KAPROW-ART AS LIFE, an exhibit devoted to recognizing the importance of Kaprow's work and developing critical scholarship related to art of the fifties and sixties. In 2009 the UCLA/Hammer Museum received support for the catalogue of the landmark survey exhibition RACHEL WHITEREAD DRAWINGS. In 2015 the Hammer Museum's exhibition, Perfect Likeness, was chosen by the board for the CCOC annual $10,000 museum grant awarded.

The membership, limited to 100, includes widely noted collectors, museum professionals, scholars, authors, and academics whose specialization is contemporary art. Since 2006, the $15,000 Sandra LeWinter Artists Fellowship award winners have included Christine Nguyen, Joel Tauber, Andrea Bowers, Glenn Kaino, Erin Cosgrove, Fran Siegel, Iva Gueorguieva, Laura Owens, Caitlin Lonegan, Analia Saban, Liz Glenn, Mona Kuhn, Kiel Johnson and the current Fellowship artist, Annie Lapin, who was nominated by one of the three 2019 jurors, Carol Eliell. CCOC is proud to support arts institutions and artists in Southern California.

Link to Bylaws




Who we are




contact us